Bombardier locomotives - DBAG BR101 (ABB-Henschel/ADtranz)                                                                                       
1996 - 1999 (photos : click on underlined blue links)
145
Begin 90's, the german DB wished to renew his fleet of locomotives, despite the arrival of a wide fleet of InterCity Express (ICE). In 1992, ABB-Henschel has modified two locomotives class 120 (120 004 and 005), in order to test new technologies in the drivetrain through its new concept "Eco 2000". The 120 005 received new power converters based on GTO thyristors and a new on-board electronics and while the 120,004 received bogies "Flexifloat" with radiant axles. In 1994, the company presented the results of its testing and DB chooses in July 1995 to purchase 145 new locomotives intended to work under voltage 15kV.

The new series 101 of the DB benefits from the experience gained on SBB Re 460 as previously described. Moreover, we find there a body shell with the rocker panels also pronounced than Re 460, while the exterior design of the cabins is getting close to the coming TRAXX. Furthermore, the class 101 have an improved traction control, with control of each of the four motors, and significant improvements are introduced to the braking, to a less noisy ventilation and to the transformer which is now cooled by a  biodegradable xxx
Class 101 121-2 at Duisburg-Hbf in june 2013. A body shell with the rocker panels also pronounced than the Lok2000 (photo Mediarail.be)
fluid instead of oil. A diagnostic system is integrated to facilitate online troubleshooting. These engines, delivered in July 1996 under ADtranz, began their service on March 1997 and were assigned to the depot of Hamburg Eidelstedt to the best IC / EC trains services with a rate of 1500 km/day. The class BR 101 will not cross the German borders and will not sold in Europe such as the Re460.

In 1996, early in their delivery, ADtranz was born from the merger of ABB-Henschel with AEG, and then in 2001, Bombardier Transportation bought Adtranz but already thinking to restructure all of its acquisitions, and to prepare a unified locomotive platform which is based on the cumulative experiences of the class12X and Eco 2000...
Class 101 007-3 passing Salzbergen the 1st july 2013  (photo Peters452002 via flickr CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Bombardier locomotives - DBAG BR101 (ABB-Henschel/ADtranz)                                                                                       
1996 - 1999 (photos : cliquer sur le lien bleu)
145
La DB souhaitait rajeunir son parc d'engins de traction en dépit de l'arrivée progressive des ICE sur le réseau allemand. En 1992, ABB-Henschel avait modifié deux locomotives de série 120, les 120 004 et 005, afin de tester de nouvelles technologies dans la chaîne de traction selon son nouveau concept "Eco 2000". La 120 005 reçut de nouveaux convertisseurs de puissance électrique sur la base de thyristors GTO, ainsi qu'une nouvelle électronique embarquée et la 120 004 reçut des bogies "Flexifloat" avec roues orientables. En 1994, la firme présentait les résultats de ses test et c'est ainsi que la DB choisit en juillet 1995 une intention d'achat pour 145 nouvelles locomotives monotension 15kV.

La nouvelle série 101 de la DB bénéficie de l'expérience acquise sur les Re460 des CFF décrites précédemment. On y retrouve d'ailleurs l'option du bas de caisse, tandis que le design extérieur des cabines se rapproche sensiblement des TRAXX à venir. Outre un système d'antipatinage amélioré, avec contrôle de chacun des quatres moteurs,  des améliorations  sensibles sont introduites au niveau du freinage, de la ventilation moins bruyante et d'un transformateur refroi-
La 101 121-2 à Duisburg-Hbf en juin 2013. Un look TRAXX mais des bas de caisses reprenant le concept Lok2000 (photo Mediarail.be)
di par un fluide biodégradable en lieu et place de l'huile. Un système de diagnostic est intégré pour faciliter les dépannages en ligne. Ces machines, livrées dès juillet 1996 sous ADtranz ont débuté leur service en mars 1997 au dépôt d'Hambourg Eidelstedt pour être affectées aux meilleures relations IC/EC, à raison de roulements de 1500 km/jour. Les BR101 ne dépasseront pas les frontières allemandes et n'auront pas de cousines vendues à l'étranger comme les Re460.

En 1996, au début de leur livraison, ADtranz naît de la fusion d'ABB-Henschel avec AEG, puis en 2001, Bombardier Transportation rachète ADtranz mais pense déjà à restructurer toutes ses acquisitions et à préparer une plateforme de locomotive unifiée sur bases des expériences cumulées ABB Eco 2000 et AEG 12X...
La 101 007-3 à Salzbergen le 1er juillet 2013 en tête d'un IC. (photo Peters452002 via flickr CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)